Life serves with different Cuisines

Very recently I was in Kolkata for a while due to some client’s project work. I stayed there for like 20 days and in between on weekends got some time off and decided to go out with few colleagues for some nearby visit.

It is always fun to explore new cities and try different cuisines. Especially when I am a foodie person and a traveler soul. Kolkata was new to me, I have never been there so I was pretty excited and happy to explore the place.

It was 20th February 2021, we went to Digha, a nearby place to Kolkata so we have to go by some vehicle or train. Due to COVID train were not operating and furthermore not safe to travel by public transport. So we were 3 girls and one of them had asked one of her friends “SAGAR” to come with us and would help us with the place.

It was a sudden plan and was amazing as the trip was full of laughter, fun, and mesmerising music around as the journey of 120 KMS, a short road trip.

There were few beaches around near Digha so we went to visit those. Fortunate enough the weather was amazing and completely favoring us with our fun time.

It was a 2 days plan, 4 of us gelled up. We ate so many delicious dishes at the night and then the next day we have planned an early morning walk to the beaches.

There we were just discussing our personal life, our current partners, and a glimpse of our relationship. Sagar just left and said that he will bring some Coconut water. I found it pretty strange, ignoring it we continued our trip. On the way back I was a bit curious and asked again and suddenly everyone ignored so I was feeling a bit guilty that why can’t I just keep my mouth shut- “PRAKRITI- NO MORE SHUT UP” – (I murmured in my head).

The fact was I can’t help myself asking the question another time because Sagar’s personality was the very attractive bold smart and disciplined way he was taking care of things. The best part about him was he was taking care of things like a true gentleman. Somewhere deep down I do adore such people and respect such guys. Yeyyi- he was some kind of the same.

Well just before our last meal together with me and my friend Asma went on a walk after dinner and post that we were about to leave for our respective places. She told me Sagar’s wife passed away 1.5 years back, they were married for 4 years and it was a typical arrange marriage and they were full of love. She died while she was sleeping at night, she got brain stroke and in postpartum, they came to know she was “expecting”. Yes she was pregnant which was not known to the couple and yes they were trying for the baby and who knows this good news would come to him in this way. I even can’t imagine how he would have felt at the moment, how he would have got courage to live again and face the world again.

I was speechless, I was blank. I didn’t react to anything in front of Sagar because my friend already told me Sagar was in depression for very long and he keeps his life very private post that.

Its been now almost 2 months since this incident but very often I do think about Sagar and his lost relationship. I do look at my relationship, I do look at couples and realized what we have got, how lucky we are. Sometimes I think life is very short this can happen to anyone of us. Anyone could be next Sagar.

The only thing is we can do is value our people, our relationships. Every other thing like money, job, travel everything can come and go but if we lose our partner would it be the same fun, same struggle, would the same job be exciting, would our favorite destinations will sound the same fun? and our favorite dish will taste the same?

The answer is realisations, value and acceptance!

Leave a comment